Traveling Happiness

I am a person who enjoys traveling. One reason that I enjoy traveling so much is that I love to experience and discover new places. Whenever I am in a new community, I am looking for the cultural aspects of the community. The museums, the parks, the festivals, and the unique neighborhoods are a draw for me. Sometimes it might be an amusement park, a zoo, or a city square that I will explore. Each community has its own flair and character that sets it apart from any other place to which I have been. The more time I have in a new location to discover these elements, the happier I become. Many of these opportunities are free which is also a great benefit.

Another exciting part of traveling for me is the actual process of getting to wherever I am going. Whether it be by car or plane (I have only traveled by train and bus once each), there is something about that experience that energizes me. If it is by plane, I find energy when I am in the terminal awaiting my departure. Seeing the different individuals throughout the terminal and creating in my mind scenarios about where they are traveling, why they are traveling, and who they may be traveling with provides me a creative way to pass the time. Boarding the plane and awaiting take off gives me a feeling of setting off on a great adventure with unknowns which generate energy within the suspense.

If I am traveling by car, the possibilities of seeing new sights launches me on moments of discovery. Making those stops along the way allow me to interact with the people and differences of each location for even a brief amount of time. On a recent trip, I learned that cotton is grown in Kansas when I thought sunflowers was that state’s unique crop. I also became aware of the magnitude of the oil wells which exist in the state of Oklahoma. New information which would have been unlikely for me to know if I had not traveled through those states in my car.

The ability to travel also gives me a sense of accomplishment. When I have been to a place and am able to check it off of my list of “famous places I would like to visit,” I feel accomplished. I also enjoy when I encounter a statue, monument, building, or street which I have heard about in a movie or on television. Again, I have a positive feeling of completion in my life.

With traveling there are also some negative aspects. Times when delays or unexpected hurdles occur. Long periods of just sitting on a plane or in a car. Missing an exit while you are driving. Having your luggage not arrive at your final destination when you do. All these negative aspects are small to me in comparison to the great feeling of euphoria which I experience when given the opportunity to travel.

Leave a comment